Simple Advice for a Simple Sunday: Stop Saying You’re Old Already

 Do you know that the most used word in the English language is “I”. I’m sure I’ve used it more than its fair share here. Do you know what “I” think is the most popular phrase in the English language? “I’m getting old.” Actually, what’s getting old is people above the age of 55 (even 60) saying their getting old. We live in a culture where we are living longer and better than former generations. Yet persons, many persons, of a certain mindset feel the need to proclaim that they are getting old. Seriously? You’re OLD at 38, 40, 45, 50, 55? While the response may be, well I am getting older each year numerically, that’s not the implied meaning when you say “I’m getting old.” It’s implication is that you can’t do what you used to be able to do when you were younger, in your 20s. What may that have been? Eating too much crap and washing it down with too much alcohol, but still being able to get up the next morning relatively skinny and less the worse for wear?  I would venture to say that you have more capability, intelligence, knowledge, guts, individuality and common sense than you did when you weren’t old. But in our culture we fail to give credence to such things, instead opting for the popular sound bite of “I’m getting old.” But you know what, I guess you’re right. You are old in the important ways…in spirit and mindset. But please, don’t tell me how old you are there’s no need. All I have to do is listen to you for about 5 minutes to know the obvious.

2 Comments

Filed under Editorial, Simple Sunday Post

2 responses to “Simple Advice for a Simple Sunday: Stop Saying You’re Old Already

  1. Hi! I liked this post. I guess there are a few ways of saying I’m getting old, but the trick is to say it in a positive way. What’s worse than getting old is not getting old. You’re right though. I hear it all the time. I remember about eight years ago, I was at a scientific meeting to do with my work, but I was on the way to the gym to do a weight workout at the time. I met a colleague on the way and asked him if he wanted to join me. He said, “when you get to my age you’ll not be so keen on working out, as you’ll have too many aches and pains.” I naturally said, “well, how old are you?” His reply, “I’m 52.” Oh! Boy, I replied, “Guess I understand why you feel so old, but I’m 60, so why don’t you come with me to the gym?” He waived me away as if I was some kind of crazy person, and tottered on his way. He died about 3 years later. I wonder if thinking he was old was what killed him? OK! I’ve gotta go workout! -k @FitOldDog http://athletewithstent.com

    • Danielle Shelton Walczak

      I’m glad you liked the post! What a good story (except the part where he died-that’s sad). It proves the point though. I think “old” thinking is detrimental not only in someone’s ability to try and accomplish things, but also to their physical well being. Clearly he didn’t work out. Maybe his thinking did ultimately do him in.

      What is ironic about your comment and story about working out, is that I had just finished taking a class at the gym and was reading your comment on email in the locker room. I think I may have to re-read your story anytime I don’t feel like getting myself to the gym. : )

Leave a Reply

