Post of the Day: Thousand Dollar Macarons…literally?

Post of the day-Zen Can Cook, October 18, 2009

www.zencancook.com

White Truffle & Hazelnut Macarons (Macaron Truffe Blanche et Noisette du Piedmont)

Zen Can Cook: Macaron Truffe Blanche et Noisette du Piedmont

Zen Can Cook: Macaron Truffe Blanche et Noisette du Piedmont

I am captivated by baked goods. In fact my husband has said to me on many occasion: “You’ll lose your fortune to baked goods.” True indeed, especially this one. Now when Mr. Zen Chef (the blogger) says: “To be perfectly honest, you have to be a little bit nutty to even consider making these macarons. Fresh white truffles cost a bundle but was it worth using the precious in a macaron?” I am captivated- not only by the picture of this delicacy, but by its acknowledged monetary exclusivity. I must make them. I must blog about them. I must share them with the world. Even the Zen Chef’s commentator , Jen, who stated: “at $4500 a pound at my black market source in LA and the fact that the macaron has managed to best me 5 times now, I’m thinking this is one of the posts that I just enjoy gazing at. beautiful!”-can’t even scare me. I have to try to make them. So should you. So this weekend I will be searching out the expensive Alba Truffle (I’ll practice my macaron making first before adding the truffle) because when provided a golden opportunity one must take it.

Follow my quest for Macaron Truffe Blanche et Noisette du Piedmont on Twitter.

1 Comment

Filed under Baking, Food, Post of the Day

One response to “Post of the Day: Thousand Dollar Macarons…literally?

  1. I’m sitting here with my mouth opened trying to stop salivating! Can you imagine? Wow!

Leave a Reply

